Adult education
classes, travel, music,
and joyful fun await you.

From San Rafael, CA, the Osher Marin Adult Learning & Living program invites all—members, non-members, residents near or far, people of all backgrounds, faiths, ethnicities, fashion styles, chocolate preferences—to explore the arts, build a broader understanding of our world, taste a few treats together, and possibly pick up a new skill or two.

We’d love to have you. Come along!

Up Next in Adult Learning & Living Events

Songs of Friends: A Multi-Genre Musical Celebration of Friendship Day

Jul 29 @ 01:00 PM - 02:15 PM
Music & Morsels: Elegant Classical Masterpieces

Celebrate with James Sokol’s journey through an array of songs – B’way, pop, classical & more! – with the theme of friends & friendship! Songs of Friends: A Multi-Genre Musical Celebration of Friendship Day Thursday, July 29 1-2:15pm (PT), 2-3:15pm (MT), 3-4:15pm (CT), 4-5:15pm (ET) on Zoom “A friend is... »

ATTEND >

Terrific Tastings: Bountiful Beef BBQ

Aug 01 @ 12:00 PM - 01:15 PM
Music & Morsels: Elegant Classical Masterpieces

Let us deliver a collection of savory goodies to your doorstep, then join an online discussion & guided tasting of world-famous KC BBQ! Terrific Tastings: Bountiful BBQ Beef Sunday, August 1 12-1:15pm (PT), 1-2:15pm (MT), 2-3:15pm (CT), 3-4:15pm (ET) on Zoom “Texas has brisket, Carolina has pulled pork and St.... »

ATTEND >

Still Traveling: Captivating Cambodia (4-Visit Series)

Aug 02 @ 11:00 AM Aug 23 @ 12:15 PM
Music & Morsels: Elegant Classical Masterpieces

Let us Zoom you to Cambodia to spend time with our terrific, local guide Tek, who leads these “visits” to his fabulous country! Still Traveling Would you like to still travel? Now you can without leaving your home – just stay still! In this new series, the Osher Marin JCC... »

ATTEND >

Overview

Adult Education Programs

Virtual Morsels & Music

Bring coffee/tea & dessert to your computer, take your front row seat, and join us for a 1-hour live concert with a special guest artist who not only performa but also offers insights into the program’s pieces. Live Q&A enriches the experience! Your ticket purchase helps support our programs and our guest artist(s) whose schedule(s) and income(s) have been severely cut by this challenging period.

Terrific Tastings

Partnering with family-owned businesses, many of which may be struggling during this challenging period, we are delighted to create our live, online, educational tasting experiences. Each month features a different specialty and a different guest who brings unique insights to the tasting. Come for the treats, stay for the fun!

Still Traveling

Would you still like to travel? You can without leaving your home. Just stay still! Let us whisk you away for an interesting, educational, and fun live, guided group tour in a destination beyond your front door!

Exploring Opera

Whether an opera newcomer or a long-time fan, join us for a single session or a full series of our popular classes. Put down your opera glasses, take your front row seat, and explore this gorgeous (if sometimes intimidating) art form. Join James Sokol who started his career under Beverly Sills at NYC Opera and worked on projects with Opera Company of Philadelphia, and then moved to work at San Francisco Opera. With years of in-theater and teaching experience, backstage anecdotes, beautiful video performance clips, and down-to-earth perspectives, Sokol creates classes that always delight.

Broadway Backstage

Let us sneak you in through the Stage Door to go backstage on Broadway! A different, special guest theater professional who brings his/her unique expertise, experiences, and insights to our discussion will be featured at each of these exclusive, behind-the-scenes visits. Live Q&A and photos/video clips (when available) will enrich our experience. Your ticket purchase helps support this program and our special guests–theater professionals—-who are mostly or completely out of work.

Opera Behind the Scenes

Let former opera professional and instructor James Sokol pull back the curtain and take you on exclusive, behind-the-scenes visits to the opera. Meet a different special guest opera professional who brings his/her unique expertise, experiences and insights to our discussion. Live Q&A and video clips highlight our visit. Your ticket purchase helps support our programs and our guests. Come learn off stage what makes the magic happen on stage!

Exploring Broadway

Revel in James Sokol’s journey through musical theater treasures, peppered with audio and video performance clips which bring the delight of Broadway into the discussion.

Songs & Stories

Join songstress & storyteller Gilda Solve for a fun, live program filled with great music and interesting insights. She’s an international vocalist, recording artist, and musician, and she’ll sing to you live from France!

Cultural Arts Trips

Let us whisk you away on exciting trips filled with fun, interesting, and delicious experiences which–depending on the destination–may include private, guided walking tours & museum visits, exciting performances, sumptuous meals, and much more!

Sign up for more information about all of our programs, events, classes, and more!