NEW CENTURY CHAMBER ORCHESTRA | Osher Marin Jewish Community Center


Sun, March 24, 2019 3:00 pm


PROGRAM 3: Forbidden Music

Daniel Hope leads a program of music written in the shadow of oppressive regimes, featuring New Century debut artist Venezulean-American pianist Vanessa Perez. At the center of this fascinating program is the Double Concerto for Violin, Piano and Orchestra by the Jewish Czech composer Edwin Schulhoff whose music was banned by the Nazis before the start of World War II.

Daniel Hope, Concertmaster
Vanessa Perez, Piano

Felix Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 13 in C minor, “Sinfoniesatz
Hans Krasa: Tanec
Erwin Schulhoff: Double Concerto
Felix Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 10 in B Mino
Dmitri Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony, Op. 110a


SUBSCRIPTIONS are available for the 2019-2020 season 

What to Expect
Brilliant, Live, Classical Music Reserved Table Seating options

Wine, beer, a selection of soft drinks along with coffee, tea and a variety of snacks and freshly baked goods available for purchase. Concessions may be enjoyed throughout the performance in the theater. No table service. No outside food/drink permitted at this event. 

Purchase Tickets in advance for best pricing and seating. -The JCC’s gym and other activities are open at this time and parking may be limited. Please consider carpooling, and give yourself time for parking.

The New Century Chamber Orchestra, founded in 1992, looks for fresh, exciting ways to present classical music in the San Francisco Bay Area by combining performances of extraordinary quality with innovative programming. One of only a handful of conductorless ensembles in the world, New Century is comprised of local musicians and those who travel from across the U.S. and Europe to perform in the Bay Area together.

Volunteer Sponsor Donate

Our Proud Sponsors