New Century Chamber Orchestra::Daugherty Perspectives

Sun, September 29, 2013 5:00 pm

Explore Daugherty Perspectives - rich in American cultureal allusions.

Tickets: $29 - $59 • Reserved cabaret & theater seating


clientuploads/directory/Performing Arts/2013-14 Season/Daugherty-280.gif


Michael Daugherty


New Century Chamber Orchestra




New Century makes a deep exploration of works by 2013-2014 Featured Composer Michael Daugherty, with a concert of music rich with American cultural allusions. Czech master Josef Suk’s joyful Serenade for String Orchestra in E Major completes the concert.

Daugherty: Viva, for solo Violin
Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, violin
Daugherty: Viola Zombie (for two violas)
Daugherty: Regrets Only (for violin, cello, and piano)
Daugherty: Sing Sing J. Edgar Hoover (for string quartet and tape)
Daugherty: Elvis Everywhere (for string quartet and tape)
Daugherty: Strut (for chamber orchestra)
Suk: Serenade for string orchestra in E Major, Op.6 

Purchase this concert as part of a 2013-2014 Subscription – on sale now! Buy online or call 415.357.1111 x 4.

Single tickets go on sale August 1, 2013:
$59 A Seating | $49 B Seating | $29 C Seating 

We invite you to experience the contagious energy, passion, and joy of the New Century Chamber Orchestra, one of only a handful of conductorless ensembles in the world. With internationally-renowned violin soloist Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg at the helm, the Orchestra has earned a reputation as the finest string orchestra in the nation, beloved for its on-fire, electrifying performances.

Live Music/Classical
Reserved Table Seating options
Concessions inc. Beer/Wine/Coffee/Tea avail

    New Century is celebrating 20 years of music-making in 2011-12 with Pulitzer Prize winner Ellen Taaffe Zwilich as Featured Composer, mandolinists Mike Marshall and Caterina Lichtenberg, and the return of former Music Directors Stuart Canin and Krista Bennion Feeney. For single tickets, please visit City Box Office or call 415.392.4400.